Home NOVEDADESEVENTOS Western Heritage Awards®

Western Heritage Awards®

by Soraya Alcalá
Western Heritage Awards®.jpg EMEDIA

National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum is among the nation’s most prestigious museums of Western heritage and art. Set atop historic the Persimmon Hill district overlooking Oklahoma City, the Museum is surrounded by beautiful gardens, fountains, and a flagstone esplanade representing the 17 Western states.

Believing the Museum should have a national influence beyond that of solely exhibitions, the Board of Directors established the Western Heritage Awards in 1960. The purpose was to encourage others to tell the great stories of the West, both past and present, with accuracy and artistic quality. The developing West is one of history’s most exciting eras, when people of all nationalities, from all walks of life, sought their futures on America’s Western frontier.

Standing more than a foot in height, the Wrangler, an impressive bronze sculpture, is awarded to principal creators of the winning entries in specified categories of Western literature, music, film, and television. The Museum also may award Wranglers to organizations or individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the nation’s Western heritage during a period of years, or whose contributions lie outside established categories.

Past recipients include distinguished writers, musicians, actors, and directors such as John Wayne, C.J. Box, Robert Knott, Lynn Anderson, Red Steagall, Clint Eastwood, Sam Elliott, Kevin 
Costner, and John Ford.

The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum invites your entries in this nationally recognized awards program.

The Announcement of Winners

All participants will receive written notification of the results once judging is final. A public announcement is made only of the winners and the Museum will not disclose names of entries in the various categories.

Guidelines for All Entries

Qualified professionals from outside the Museum Board of Directors are selected as judges for 
the various categories in literature, film, television, and music. Judges are granted the right to step outside category restrictions if a meritorious work deserves unique recognition, or to withhold an award in any category where the quality or number of entries does not meet the
standards set by previous winners. The Museum reserves the right to confer an award in each 
category each year. The subject matter or theme of each entry should relate to the American
 West and/or the Western experience.


Related Videos

Leave a Comment